In 1972, the Board of Directors of Northwest Alpine Race Patrons recognized that there was no season-long racing series for acknowledging outstanding performance of J123 and older level racers within Region 1 of the Central Division. The Race Patron Board consisting of George Carisch, Judd Ringer, Gunnar Gidlow and Bob Tengdin obtained sponsorship from the Coca Cola Company and thus was born the Minnesota Coca Cola Cup. The scoring consisted of “World Cup” place points, first through tenth of a competitor’s best two downhill, four giant slalom and six slalom finishes in awarding the combined trophies. The series was known later simply as the Minnesota Cup; in 1999 the Board of Directors voted to change the name to the Region One Cup. The Region One Cup was discontinued in 2002 and in 2007-08 was reinstated as a season long series known again as the Minnesota Cup.


The current method now used for scoring shall consist of four weekends of Scored races within Region 1 for Region 1 registered Junior (U21,19,16) athletes only. In 2014-2015 these weekends include Wild Mtn Jan. 3-4, Lutsen Jan 17-19, Spirit Mtn Jan 24-25, and LaCrosse Feb 7-8. Scoring will be calculated using old World Cup points, 25 for first place – descending to 1 point for 15th place, for each of the nine race days completed. Overall trophies will be presented to the first, second and third place junior (U21,19,16) with the highest combined scores. Ties are broken by comparing results and the athlete with the higher results is put first. The top junior male and female will have their name engraved on a permanent cup that is now displayed at Buck Hill and their name put on the Region 1 MN Cup trailer. NOTE: FIS races are excluded from the scoring. The Minnesota Cup is a prestigious award as it demonstrates a strong commitment to Region One racing.

The awards for 2015-2016 MN Cup will be handed out during an awards presentation on Saturday after the races at the Afton USSA Races at Afton Alps on Feb 18-19, 2017.

2014-2015 Winners

  • First Place: Louis Nguyen and Nellie Ide
  • Second Place: Luke Doolittle and Lauren Geary
  • Third Place: Jack Lindsay and Chloe Townsend

2013-2014 Winners

  • First Place: Tommy Anderson and Kaitlyn Vesterstein
  • Second Place: Louis Nguyen and Juliana Damberg
  • Third Place: Teagan Olin and Emily Nash

2012-2013 Winners

  • First Place: Rosie Hust and Erik Johnson
  • Second Place: Madison Danelski and Louis Nguyen
  • Third Place: Juliana Damberg and Peter Baker